Welcome visiting Ph.D. student Antonio Gentile! Antonio is from University of Milano-Bicocca (group of Riccardo Ruffo) and will be working in the coming six months on MXene electrode systems.

Welcome new Ph.D. student Yunjie Li! Having done her Master at Shandong University, Yunjie will be doing her Ph.D. study with us on lithium-ion batteries.

Welcome new Master Student Wyatt Bellville! Wyatt is enroled at the AMASE program and will carry out his 6 month Master thesis in our team on the topic of MXene derived electrode materials.

Congratulations to Dr. Hwirim Shim! Hwirim has successfully defended her thesis entitled “Nano-design of metal oxide electrodes for Li- and Na-ion hybrid energy storage” today. The committee included Guido Kickelbick, Tobias Kraus, and Frank Aubertin.

Congratulations to our alumni Dr. Simon Fleischmann (PhD 2018) for winning the 2020 YESS Award to carry out research to investigate the transition from Faradaic to non-Faradaic energy storage (RS2E French Research Network on Electrochemical Energy Storage) and Dr. Pattarachai Srimuk (PhD 2019) for winning the 2020 UMSICHT Award (Fraunhofer UMSICHT) and the Leibniz Dissertation Award (Leibniz Association) for work on desalination batteries.

Welcome to our team! Fabian Schmitt will support our research activities related to environmentally friendly energy storage technologies. Florian is enrolled at the materials science and engineering bachelor program ATLANTIS, which is a binational program between Saarland University and the Oregon State University.

Welcome to our team! Marie Besch and Lola Bieber are enrolled in the EEIGM program, an international (European) Master program. Marie will be supporting our research activities related to MXene and Lola will work on electrodes for selective ion recovery.

Welcome new student intern Behnoosh Bornamehr (from Saarland University) and scientist Tamara Winter (from TU Darmstadt)! Behnoosh is working on advanced electrode materials and Tamara will enhance our research on soft electrode technology.

Welcome to our new technician, Ms. Zeyu Fu, who is joining our team.

Srimuk Pattarachai was selected to attend the 2020 Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting (postponed to 2021 because of Covid-19) as a Fellow. He was selected as one of only 650 total attendees, selected from a highly competitive global call.

Volker Presser was accepted into the Royal Society of Chemistry as a Fellow (Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry = FRSC).

Welcome our new PhD student Lei Wang! Being a CSC scholar, he will explore Faradaic materials for electrochemical water treatment.

Welcome new student intent Kathleen Frisella from Oregon State University. Being enrolled in the ATLANTIS program, she will be supporting our research on next-generation desalination technologies.

Pattarachai Srimuk has successfully defended his thesis entitled “Faradaic electrode materials for next-generation electrochemical water desalination”. Read his thesis online!

Welcome visiting PhD student Smita Talande! She will be exploring electrochemical materials for energy storage and comes from the Palacký University Olomouc in the Czech Republic.

Welcome new PhD student Mohammad Torkamanzadeh! Mohammad did his Master at University of Twente and will be working on electrochemical desalination via 2D materials.

Welcome new student intern Bixian Ying! A Master student from Saarland University, she will be working on battery technology.

Welcome new master student Lorena Ramirez. She is enroled in the AMASE program of Saarland University at the Department of Materials Science and engineering.

Welcome our new student intern Yang Liu. Yan is a master student from Saarland University at the Department for Materials Science and Engineering.