Volker Presser was honored for the work on electrochemical water remediation and Lithium-ion extraction by the City of Saarbrücken. Read more about the event and all awardees.

Our work on lithium-ion recovery from aqueous media (including seawater) was featured by the local radio station SR3.


It is a privilege to receive, after 2018 and 2021, the recognition as 2022 Highly Cited Researcher (HRC) by Clarivate. Only 6,938 out of abut 8M researchers have received this recognition. Citation numbers are not the most important parameter in science, but I am grateful to our team and collaborators that the community so well receives our works. I am also honored to be the only 2022 HRC of Saarland University and only 1 of 2 if counting the University Hospital, too.

It was an honor to meet and talk with Saarland Minister-President (prime minister) Tobias Hans during his visit to INM. We discussed our research on alternative batteries and energy-efficient lithium-ion-battery recycling. Read more about the visit online and on LinkedIn (our LinkedIn, the INM LinkedIn, and the PM’s LinkedIn). We are grateful that, the very next day, the state TV broadcasting station Saarländischer Rundfunk paid us also a visit and made a 2 min clip about our recycling project, kindly financially supported by the EU via European Regional Development Fund. The clip aired during the very popular segment “Aktueller Bericht“, and you can watch it via access to the SR Mediathek.

Our collaborative MXene tribology work to-be-published in ACS Nano tracks media attention:




Our Li-recovery project MERLIN enjoys media coverage by the Saarlandian TV (Aktueller Bericht, 30.10.2020), Saarbrücker Zeitung (24.11.2020), and SR Radio (SR3, 10.12.2020). We are grateful to the RAG Foundation for providing funding.

Congratulations to our alumni Dr. Simon Fleischmann (PhD 2018) for winning the 2020 YESS Award to carry out research to investigate the transition from Faradaic to non-Faradaic energy storage (RS2E French Research Network on Electrochemical Energy Storage) and Dr. Pattarachai Srimuk (PhD 2019) for winning the 2020 UMSICHT Award (Fraunhofer UMSICHT) and the Leibniz Dissertation Award (Leibniz Association) for work on desalination batteries.

Volker Presser was accepted into the Royal Society of Chemistry as a Fellow (Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry = FRSC).

Volker Presser was selected to give the Materials Today ‘Materials in Society’ Lecture at the 28th International Conference on Diamond and Carbon Materials (DCM’2017)  in Gothenberg, Sweden. Click here for the coverage of the Materials Today Webfeature online.

Nicolas Jäckel is not only selected Fellow to participate at this year’s Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting (impressive considering the tough competition internationally), but is also partaking in a TV show with the title “emotions instead of facts: do we mistrust science?”. The podium discussion includes also German Federal Minister for Education and Research Prof. Johanna Wanka, Prof. Helga Nowotny (former President of the European Research Council), and Andreas Sentker (Managing Editor at Die Zeit).

Tune in ARD Alpha on June 28th, at 8:15 PM (Link to the show).

Missed the show? Click here to read the transcript of the show.

Also click here to access the coverage of the event by the UdS web magazine “campus”.